Vehicle emissions test sites to expand in NE Ohio


COLUMBUS, Ohio (AP) -- Ohio is getting ready to expand the number of sites where motorists can go for emissions testing that's required in seven northeast Ohio counties.

Vehicles must now be taken to one of 23 tailpipe testing centers within an area that includes Cleveland and Akron. The Plain Dealer reports ( ) that drivers of new cars made since 1996 will have other options for the beginning in late June, including 53 independent testing centers at auto repair shops and 16 self-serve kiosks that will be available 24/7.

Eventually, a remote sensing unit could screen cars as they drive by, and the owner wouldn't have to get out.

E-Check testing is mandatory Summit, Portage, Medina (meh-DY'-nuh), Cuyahoga (ky-uh-HOH'-guh), Lake, Lorain and Geauga (jee-AW'-guh) counties because of ozone pollution in the region.


Information from: The Plain Dealer,