Branstad becomes chairman of Midwestern Governors


DES MOINES, Iowa (AP) -- Iowa Gov. Terry Branstad is the new chairman of the Midwestern Governors Association, a group of 10 states that works together on agriculture, economic development and other issues.

Branstad was elected Sunday in Washington, where the group is meeting.

Branstad says he will focus on promoting a positive Midwestern narrative, increasing domestic energy production and supporting efforts to lower energy costs for businesses and families in the region.

Minnesota Gov. Mark Dayton was elected to serve as vice chairman for this year.

Illinois Gov. Pat Quinn is the outgoing chairman.

The association members include governors from Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Ohio, South Dakota and Wisconsin.