Heading Logo


Today in History

Today in History

By The Associated Press. Published: June 20, 2017 4:00 AM

Today in History

Today is Tuesday, June 20, the 171st day of 2017. There are 194 days left in the year. Summer begins at 9:24 p.m. Pacific time/10:24 p.m. Mountain time/11:24 p.m. Central time (12:24 a.m. Eastern time June 21).

Today's Highlight in History:

On June 20, 1967, boxer Muhammad Ali was convicted in Houston of violating Selective Service laws by refusing to be drafted and was sentenced to five years in prison. (Ali's conviction was ultimately overturned by the U.S. Supreme Court).

On this date:

[Article continues below]

In 1782, Congress approved the Great Seal of the United States, featuring the emblem of the bald eagle.

In 1837, Queen Victoria acceded to the British throne following the death of her uncle, King William IV.

In 1893, a jury in New Bedford, Massachusetts, found Lizzie Borden not guilty of the ax murders of her father and stepmother.

In 1921, U.S. Rep. Alice Mary Robertson, R-Okla., became the first woman to preside over a session of the House of Representatives.

In 1966, the Beatles album "Yesterday and Today" was released by Capitol Records, initially with its notorious "butcher" cover photo which ended up being replaced.

[Article continues below]

In 1977, the first oil began flowing through the recently completed Trans-Alaska Pipeline from Prudhoe Bay to Valdez.

In 1988, the U.S. Supreme Court unanimously upheld a New York City law making it illegal for private clubs with more than 400 members to exclude women and minorities.

In 2001, Houston resident Andrea Yates drowned her five children in the family bathtub, then called police. (Yates was later found guilty of murder, but had her conviction overturned; she was acquitted by reason of insanity in a retrial.)

Ten years ago: For the second time, President George W. Bush vetoed an embryonic stem cell bill as he urged scientists toward what he termed "ethically responsible" research.

Five years ago: A Republican-controlled House committee voted along party lines, 23-17, to hold Attorney General Eric Holder in contempt of Congress for failing to turn over Justice Department documents related to Operation Fast and Furious.

One year ago: Donald Trump abruptly fired campaign manager Corey Lewandowski in a dramatic shake-up designed to calm panicked Republican leaders and end an internal power struggle plaguing the billionaire businessman's White House bid.


Rate this article

Do you want to leave a comment?   Please Log In or Register to comment.