Heading Logo

Patriots Pen contest winners named

Laura Nethken Published: February 21, 2003 12:00 AM

The Eighth District of the Ohio Veterans of Foreign Wars announced the winners of the 2003 Patriots Pen competition. The contest was among seventh- and eighth-grade students from Portage, Mahoning, Trumbull and Summit counties on the 2002-03 theme My Pledge to America.

The Portage County winner and representative is eighth-grader Megan N. Geil, sponsored by Garrettsville VFW Post No. 5067.

[Article continues below]

The post winners, county winners and the district winner will receive awards representing more than $1,800 in prizes and plaques acknowledging their efforts in the contest at a dinner and awards ceremony to be held Sunday at Post No. 9571 in Ellsworth.

This year, the contest totaled a record 488 entries. Next year, the theme will be My Dream for America. Any VFW post can accept entries and give further information.

Rate this article

Do you want to leave a comment?   Please Log In or Register to comment.