Heading Logo

Dustmans Deputies, a group of former Portage County

Chad Dryden Published: March 22, 2003 12:00 AM

Dustmans Deputies, a group of former Portage County deputies who served under Sheriff Ross Dustman in the 1950s and 60s, gathered recently for a meeting at Davids Fireside in Rootstown. From left, are the Dustmans presidents from the past six years: Mick McGuire, Ernie Moravec, Karl Byttner, Steve Georges, Joe Slechta and Bob Shewell. About 30 people attended the meeting, which included a question and answer session with guest speaker Duane Kaley, the current sheriff of Portage County. The deputies also viewed photographs brought to the meeting by a relative of Dustman. The next meeting will be held on May 13. The meetings are open to all current or former law enforcement officials.

Rate this article

Do you want to leave a comment?   Please Log In or Register to comment.