Heading Logo

A brief history of sexual harassment laws

Published: July 2, 2017 4:00 AM

1964: The Civil Rights Act of 1964 is passed. Title VII of the law prohibits employment discrimination based on race, color, sex, religion, or national origin, and applies to all genders. However, the intent was to protect women in the workplace.

1980: The Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) states that sexual harassment is a form of sex discrimination prohibited by Title VII.

1986: The Supreme Court of the United States rules in Meritor Savings Bank v. Vinson that speech itself can create a hostile environment, which violates Title VII.

1991: Congress modifies Title VII to add more protection against discrimination in the workplace when the Civil Rights Act of 1991 is passed. The law allows harassment and discrimination plaintiffs the right to a jury trial in federal court, as well as the right to collect damages for the first time.

1994: The Violence Against Women Act of 1994 is passed, limiting the acceptability of evidence of the past sexual history of the plaintiff in cases of sexual harassment.

Rate this article

Do you want to leave a comment?   Please Log In or Register to comment.

redleg6 Jul 3, 2017 10:10 AM

From above:..and applies to "All Genders"....

*** Who ever wrote rhis article needs to be reminded that there are only TWO Genders, MALE and FEMALE....